Prof. Dr. Christian Kautz

Head of working group

Room E 4.002
Email: kautz@tuhh.de
Phone: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 42 59

Christian Kautz joined Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH) in 2002. Since 2012, he has been leading the Engineering Education Research Group. Besides teaching seminars on Engineering Education and (co-)teaching various introductory engineering courses, he carries out research on student understanding of core concepts in these subjects, as well as on more general cognitive skills. In addition, he is involved in the professional development of faculty and teaching staff in science and engineering.

Christian Kautz gained some initial experience in teaching as a student teaching assistant at TUHH in the early 1990s. This led him to pursue a doctoral degree in college-level physics education research at the University of Washington (Ph.D. 1999). After three further years in the US, as an assistant professor in the Department of Physics at Syracuse University, he returned to Germany in 2002.

Clemens Schröter

MGK Coordinator

Room E 4.006
Email: clemens.schroeter@tuhh.de
Phone: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 46 19

Clemens Schröter is working as a research assistant in the Engineering Education Research Group and ia the coordinator for the Integrated Research Training Group MGK of the Sonderforschungsbereich 986 Tailor-Made Multi-Scale Materials Systems since September 2021. From 2010 to 2016 Clemens studied the interdisciplinary degree program nanoscience at the University of Hamburg. Focussing on physical chemistry he finished his master thesis on “Electromechanical Actuators based on Cross-Linked Gold Nanoparticle Membranes”. Starting in 2016 he investigated the synthesis and mechanical characterization of titania based nanocomposites as Ph.D. candidate in the SFB 986 at the University of Hamburg. During this time he helped supervise practical lab courses and theses in nanoscience and chemistry.

Dr. Layla Tulimat

MGK Coordinator

Room E 4.006
Email: layla.tulimat@tuhh.de
Phone: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 48 99

Layla Tulimat joined the Engineering Education Research Group in November 2017. Her field of work covers the coordination of the Collaborative Research Center 986’s Integrated Research Training Group (Integriertes Graduiertenkolleg). Layla studied chemistry from 2004 untill 2011 at RWTH Aachen University. During her studies, she worked as a student assistant in the institutes of inorganic and organic chemistry. In 2016, she received her PhD in physical chemistry in the field of molecular spectroscopy . During her PhD, she worked as a research assistant and was responsible for supervising the students during their theses and various practical courses as well as for the correction of exams and exercises in differend fields of chemistry.

Ferdinand Kieckhäfer, M.Sc.

PhD student

Room E 4.003
Email: ferdinand.kieckhaefer@tuhh.de
Phone: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 48 17

Ferdinand Kieckhäfer has been working as a research assistant and doctoral student in the Engineering Education Research Group since July 2016. His area of research is students conceptual understanding in control theory. Ferdinand enrolled in the study program General Engineering Science at TUHH in 2010. He finished with a bachelor’s degree with focus on electrical engineering followed by his master studies in electrical engineering with focus on control theory. His master thesis about the lab-like part of a course in control was written at the Engineering Education Research Group. During his studies, Ferdinand worked serveral years as an undergraduate teaching assistant in mechanics and in control theory. During that work, he discovered his affection for Engineering Education Research, which led to working as a undergraduate research assistant in the Engineering Education Research Group and his master thesis. He also coordinates the LearnING Center.

Dimitri Eckert, M.Sc.

PhD student

Room E 4.003
Email: dimitri.eckert@tuhh.de
Phone: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 46 18

Dimitri Eckert has been working as a research assistant and doctoral student in the Engineering Education Research Group since April 2021. His area of research is the impact of different representations on students understanding of robotics and computer science concepts. Dimitri was enrolled in the Bachelor program for mechanical engineering at ETH Zurich from 2014 to 2017. From 2018 to 2021 he completed he completed the specialized master degree in robotics, system and control. The title of his master thesis was „End-effector and Joint Sensor Fusion for Offset and Drift Mitigation in Force/Torque Measurments“. During his studies, Dimitri worked serveral years as an undergraduate teaching assistant in mechanics, thermodynamics and control theory. As a student representative he conducted several surveys on lecture quality and worked together with lecturers to implement the suggested improvements. During that work, he discovered his affection for Engineering Education Research. Apart from his tasks in the Engineering Education Research Group, he organises and develops the various robotics and STEM courses of robotik@TUHH.

Max Uzulis, M.Sc.

PhD student

Room E 4.004

Email: max.uzulis@tuhh.de

Phone: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 46 19

Max Uzulis started to work for the department for Engineering Education Research as a research assistant and doctoral candidate in August 2021. In the GENERATING project, he researches AI-based assignment and task generators and the structure of the content knowledge, which is necessary for the successful deployment of AI technology in the context of education. He works together with the Computer Center of the TUHH, the Institute of Maritime Logistics and the Institute of Technical Logistics to plan, design and apply an assignment and task generator for students and teachers of different logistics related courses. Between 2014 and 2020 Max studied physics in Greifswald and specialized in the physics of the middle atmosphere (Master thesis: Ground based gravity wave detection via infrared hydroxyl nighglow images in the mesosphere). During his studies, he developed a great interest in teaching in general but also a desire to communicate scientific knowledge and passion. After graduating for the University of Greifswald Max gathered experience as a teacher at a High School and as a lecturer at a private university in Hamburg.

Student research assistants

Larissa Schaumburg

Former team members

Dr. Nils Gayer
Dr.-Ing. Julie Direnga
Dr. Alette Winter
Dr.-Ing. Dion Timmermann
Dr. Ulrike Herzog
Hanno Holzhüter, M.Sc.
Felix Lehmann, B.Sc.
Dr. Arne Wulf
Dr. Andrea Brose

Prof. Dr. Christian Kautz

Arbeitsgruppenleiter

Raum E 4.002
Email: kautz@tuhh.de
Telefon: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 42 59

Christian Kautz ist seit 2002 an der Technischen Universität Hamburg (TUHH) tätig. Seit 2012 leitet er hier die Abteilung für Fachdidaktik der Ingenieurwissenschaften. Neben seiner Lehrtätigkeit in Bereich Fachdidaktik sowie verschiedenen Grundlagenfächern des Ingenieurstudiums beschäftigt er sich mit dem Verständnis zentraler Begriffe bei Studierenden in diesen Fächern sowie mit fachübergreifenden kognitiven Fähigkeiten. Darüber hinaus ist Christian Kautz in der Weiter-qualifizierung von Lehrenden in naturwissenschaftlichen und technischen Fächern tätig.

Erste Erfahrungen in der Lehre machte Christian Kautz bereits als studentischer Tutor an der TUHH in den frühen 1990er Jahren. Dies führte zu dem Entschluss, an der University of Washington eine Promotion im Bereich der Hochschul-fachdidaktik der Physik anzustreben (Abschluss 1999). Nach drei weiteren Jahren in den USA, als Assistant Professor im Physik-Department der Syracuse University, kehrte er 2002 nach Deutschland zurück.

Clemens Schröter

MGK-Koordinator

Raum E 4.006
Email: clemens.schroeter@tuhh.de
Telefon: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 46 19

Clemens Schröter arbeitet seit September 2021 als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Koordinator für den Graduiertenkolleg MGK des Sonderforschungsbereiches 986 Maßgeschneiderte Multiskalige Materialsysteme in der Abteilung für Fachdidaktik der Ingenieurswissenschaften. Von 2010 bis 2016 absolvierte Clemens an der Universität Hamburg den interdisziplinären Studiengang Nanowissenschaften. Das Studium schloss er mit seiner Masterarbeit in der Physikalischen Chemie zum Thema Electromechanical Actuators based on CrossLinked Gold Nanoparticle Membranes ab. Als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand des SFB986 in der Physikalischen Chemie der Universität Hamburg erforschte er anschließend die Synthese und mechanische Charakterisierung von Titandioxid-basierten Nanokompositen. In dieser Zeit betreute er Laborpraktika und Abschlussarbeiten im Bereich der Nanowissenschaften und der Chemie.

Dr. Layla Tulimat

MGK-Koordinatorin

Raum E 4.006
Email: layla.tulimat@tuhh.de
Telefon: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 48 99

Layla Tulimat ist seit November 2017 in der Abteilung Fachdidaktik der Ingenieurwissenschaften als Koordinatorin des MGK Graduiertenkolleg des Sonderforschungsbereich 986 tätig. Layla studierte von 2004 bis 2011 Chemie an der RWTH Aachen. Während ihres Studiums arbeitete sie als studentische Hilfskraft in den Instituten der anorganische und organischen Chemie, wo sie Studierende bei diversen Praktika betreute. In 2016 absolvierte sie ihre Promotion an der RWTH Aachen am Institut für Physikalische Chemie im Bereich Molekulare Spektroskopie. Während ihrer Promotion arbeitete sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und war für die Korrektur von Klausuren und Übungen in verschiedenen Bereichen der Chemie, sowie für die Betreuung studentischer Praktika und Abschlussarbeiten verantwortlich.

Ferdinand Kieckhäfer, M.Sc.

Doktorand, in Elternzeit

Raum E 4.003
Email: ferdinand.kieckhaefer@tuhh.de
Telefon: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 48 17

Ferdinand Kieckhäfer arbeitet seit Juli 2016 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand in der Abteilung für Fachdidaktik der Ingenieurwissenschaften. Sein Forschungsgebiet ist das studentische Verständnis von Konzepten in der Regelungstechnik. Ferdinand studierte von 2010 bis 2014 an der TUHH Allgemeine Ingenieurwissenschaften mit der Vertiefung Elektrotechnik. Daran schloss sich ein Masterstudium der Elektrotechnik mit Vertiefung in Mess-, Steuer- und Regelungstechnik an. Dieses endete 2016 mit der Untersuchung des praktischen Anteils einer Grundlagenvorlesung zur Regelungstechnik als Masterarbeit. Im Laufe des Studiums arbeitete Ferdinand mehrere Jahre als Tutor in der Mechanik und in der Regelungstechnik. Dort wurde sein Interesse für die ingenieurwissenschaftliche Fachdidaktik geweckt, welches zur Arbeit als studentische Hilfskraft in der Abteilung für Fachdidaktik der Ingenieurwissenschaften führte und sich auch in seiner Masterarbeit dort niederschlug. Zusätzlich koordiniert er das LearnING Center.

Dimitri Eckert, M.Sc.

Doktorand

Raum E 4.003

Email: dimitri.eckert@tuhh.de
Telefon: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 46 29

Dimitri Eckert arbeitet seit April 2021 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand in der Abteilung für Fachdidaktik der Ingenieurwissenschaften. Sein Forschungsgebiet ist der Einfluss von verschiedenen Repräsentationen auf das Verständnis von Robotik- und Informatikkonzepten. Dimitri studierte von 2014 bis 2017 an der ETH Zürich Maschinenbau im Bachelor und anschließend von 2018 bis 2021 Robotics, Systems and Control im Master. Das Studium schloss er mit seiner Masterarbeit zum Thema „End-effector and Joint Sensor Fusion for Offset and Drift Mitigation in Force/Torque Measurments“ ab. Im Laufe des Studiums arbeitete Dimitri mehrere Semester als Tutor in der Mechanik, in der Thermodynamik und in der Regelungstechnik. Als Studierendenvertreter hat er unter anderem Umfragen zur Lehrverbesserung durchgeführt und mit den Dozierenden an der Umsetzung der Verbesserungsvorschläge gearbeitet. Diese Tätigkeiten haben sein Interesse an der Vermittlung von technischen Inhalten geweckt. Neben der Arbeit in der Abteilung für Fachdidaktik der Ingenieurwissenschaften leitet und entwickelt Dimitri die verschiedenen Robotik- und Technikkurse der Koordinierungsstelle robotik@TUHH.

Max Uzulis, M.Sc.

Doktorand

Raum E 4.004

Email: max.uzulis@tuhh.de

Telefon: +49 (0)40 / 42 878 – 46 18

Max Uzulis arbeitet seit August 2021 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand in der Fachdidaktik der Ingenieurwissenschaften. Im Rahmen des Generating Projektes erforscht er KI-basierte Aufgabengeneratoren und die erforderlichen Wissensstrukturen zur erfolgreichen KI-gestützten, digitalen Lehre. Im Zuge dessen arbeitet er zusammen mit dem Rechenzentrum der TUHH, dem Institut für maritime Logistik und dem Institut für technisch Logistik an einem Aufgabengenerator für die Lehrenden und Lernenden der Logistik. Max hat zwischen 2014 und 2020 in Greifswald Physik studiert und hat das Studium mit einer Masterarbeit im Bereich der Atmosphärendynamik (Schwerewellen in der Mesopause mittels bodengestützten Hydroxyl-Nightglow Messungen) abgeschlossen. Während des Studiums hat er das physikalische Grundpraktikum für Nebenfächler*innen betreut und hat dort seine Begeisterung für Lehre entdecken können. Nach dem Studium konnte Max praktische Erfahrung als Lehrer an einem Gymnasium und einer privaten Universität sammeln.

Studentische Mitarbeiter*innen

Larissa Schaumburg

Ehemalige Mitarbeiter*innen

Dr. Nils Gayer

Dr.-Ing. Julie Direnga
Dr. Alette Winter
Dr.-Ing. Dion Timmermann
Dr. Ulrike Herzog
Hanno Holzhüter, M.Sc.
Felix Lehmann, B.Sc.
Dr. Arne Wulf
Dr. Andrea Brose