Excellent teaching!

Outstanding teaching deserves to be recognised. Here we have compiled a list of teaching awards for you:

  • Ars legendi Prize for excellent university teaching
    Every year, the Donors’ Association for the Promotion of Sciences and Humanities in Germany awards the prize for excellent university teaching to highlight its importance and provide an incentive for new innovative ideas. The prize is awarded in two categories: individual and project. Every year, the focus is on a special theme. 2020 is about “promoting civic engagement of students”.
    Application deadline extended: 17 July 2020
  • Ars legendi Faculty Award in Mathematics and the Natural Sciences
    The award is intended to highlight the special importance of university teaching in education and careers. The award takes place annually in the categories of life sciences, chemistry, mathematics and physics.
    Application deadline was 15 January 2020
  • Ars legendi Faculty Award in Engineering and Computer Science
    The award aims to create an incentive to become more involved in supporting students and to make teaching a central criterion of quality. The award is aimed exclusively at innovative achievements in teaching in the faculties of engineering and computer science. The prize is awarded every three years. The last award ceremony took place in 2017.
    Application deadline is 05.02.2021
  • Claussen-Simon Competition for Universities
    Exceptional and outstanding projects at Hamburg universities are funded.
    The tender will be suspended in 2020.
  • Fellowship for Innovation in Higher Education Teaching
    DATEV Foundation and Stifterverband promote new concepts in university teaching. New teaching methods are to be implemented and new content design supported. You can apply in the categories Junior, Senior or Tandem Fellowship. Applications can be submitted by teachers from any state or private university in Germany. Multiple applications from one university are also possible. Criteria are the expected contribution to the further development of teaching and its transfer possibilities
    Application deadline: 17 July 2020
  • Gutenberg Teaching Award
    The award underlines the importance of teaching and encourages further development. The award is given to those who have outstandingly developed academic teaching and increased its quality. Universities or departments are entitled to standardise and can only submit one proposal at a time.
  • Hamburg Teaching Award
    The City of Hamburg awards this prize every year for innovative teaching achievements at Hamburg universities. Only students are eligible for nomination. In 2019, the prize will be awarded for the 11th time. The deadline is yet to be announced.
    Proposals can be submitted to Kerstin Kuchta, Vice President Teaching, until 30.04.2021: vp-lehre(at)tuhh.de
  • Teaching Award for Tutors at the TUHH
    The TUHH awards the prize to tutors who design their courses with commitment, who activate students in a targeted manner and support them in finding their own solutions, and who contribute to good teaching at the TUHH. The application can be initiated by a self-proposal or by the nomination of students or supervisors from the institutes.
    The deadline for applications was 31 January 2020
  • Professor of the Year
    This award of the UNICUM Foundation is aimed at teachers at universities with doctoral degrees. The award recognises the commitment to providing students with important qualifications and thus enabling them to start their careers. Nominations can be made via colleagues and employers in the engineering/computer science category.
    The prize will be suspended in 2020.
  • Association of German Machinery and Plant Manufacturers (VDMA), “Best Machinery House” University Award
    The VDMA would like to support the faculties of mechanical and electrical engineering in the quality assurance of their teaching. It is aimed at all higher education institutions with Bachelor’s or Diplom degree programmes. The aim is to better realise academic success in this way.
    Application deadline probably beginning of June 2020 (comparison last year)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *